St. John's Presbyterian Church (New London, P.E.I.)

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

St. John's Presbyterian Church (New London, P.E.I.)

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


Presbyterians in the New London, Prince Edward Island, area were first ministered to by Rev. James MacGregor in 1806. For twenty years thereafter Rev. Keir from Princetown allotted part of his services to the Cavendish and New London congregations until in 1826 they were organized into a separate congregation under Rev. Hugh Dunbar. From 1838 to 1845 Rev. John Geddie served in this ministry, followed by Rev. Isaac Murray in 1850. About 1862 New London North and Summerfield separated from the Cavendish/Rustico/New Glasgow section. From 1877 to 1887 North and South New London were united until, at the latter date, New London North was united with Kensington under Rev. John MacLeod. For a period of time in the first half of the twentieth century the charge was known as the Clifton/New London Presbyterian Church, becoming, in 1938, the Presbyterian Church in Canada New London Charge. In 1974 it seems to have become known as St. John's Presbyterian Church, New London.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes