Wellington United Church pastoral charge

Identity area

Type of entity

Authorized form of name

Wellington United Church pastoral charge

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence


The Wellington United Church pastoral charge is made up of the communities of Victoria West, Union Corner, and Wellington, Prince Edward Island. Its earliest roots lie in the Bible Christian denomination, a branch of the Wesleyan faith. Methodism in the area officially dates from the formation of the Egmont circuit in 1873. The circuit name was changed to Bideford in 1878 and, shortly after church union in 1925, the Wellington/Union Corner/Victoria West churches became a separate pastoral charge. Churches were built circa 1878 in Victoria West, 1877 in Fifteen Point (later Union Corner) and 1888 in Wellington.


Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes